Momentum 2009 – first post

November 11, 2009 at 4:32 pm | Posted in Momentum | Leave a comment
Tags:

Well here I am at Momentum 2009 and as usual I will be blogging about what I see and some of my impressions on where EMC is heading. It’s now Wednesday afternoon so a large part of the conference has already taken place so I have a lot of catching up to do.
It’s interesting when doing these posts to notice the trends from previous Momentums and also EMC world which is usually scheduled about half between sucessive Momentums. As a reminder of what was happening at EMC world this year I took a look at a couple of Pie’s posts from that event. emc-world-2009-the-case-of-the-incredibly-shrinking-momentum commented on the shrinkage of CMA topics at EMC world (which covers all of EMCs offerings unlike Momentum which just covers CMA).

The number of topics seems to have stayed steady, there are 6 tracks with sessions running from monday through to Thursday morning. However the size of the conference is somewhat smaller than previous years I have attended, just over a thousand attendees. I’m not sure if this is due to the recession or just that the venue is smaller (there are definitely less exhibitors and they tend to have smaller stands). For me this is no bad thing as there is definitely a cosier feel and you keep bumping into old friends. I just hope this is not a permanent trend. As you will probably see from my subsequent posts I’m quite excited about some of the directions EMC is taking.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

